As of September 1, 2005 new Texas legislation prohibits the burning of household refuse or rubbish in Montgomery County on less than 5 Acres of land or within 300 feet of neighborhood or subdivision.
Violation of this State Law is a Class C Misdemeanor punishable by mandatory Community Service and a fine of up to $500.
For more information or any questions contact the Montgomery County Fire Marshal's Office at (936) 538-8288.
Montgomery County Fire Marshal Website
Texas Drought Monitor
Texas A&M Forest Service
Texas Wildfire Protection Plan Resources
Do's & Don't of Outdoor Burning
TCEQ Outdoor Burning Brochure - English
TCEQ Outdoor Burning Brochure - Spanish